Exploration · Friday Faves · Workin' on my Fitness

Summer Saturdays

Let me preface this by saying that I don’t remember the last time I was this tan…tan to the point where my scalp is significantly whiter than my face and the rest of the body. But that’s because I have gone back to my first love.

I have found a Saturday routine that brings me back to my volleyball roots. Beach volleyball, that is. Even though it’s not indoor, it is just as good (not to mention an awesome workout that spans all day) and makes me nostalgic thinking about the girls I used to play with in high school. I played intramurals indoor and beach in college, and I loved the friends I played with in that season of my life as well.

I get a double dose of happiness being in the sun and playing volleyball, so it’s safe to say that my Saturdays will be busy for the foreseeable future. The fact that it is almost sunny year round in L.A. is just icing to an already delicious cake.

But there are important essentials when it comes to beach volleyball…essentials that I had to learn the hard way:

  1. Sunscreen: not just having it, but constantly reapplying it. I’ve had a few tender spots kissed by the sun. It’s not comfortable. Trust me. With that being said, a baseball cap and/or sunglasses is also a must.
  2. Water: the first time I went out, I thought one water bottle was enough. I was wrong. Now, I come prepared with 3 – 4! Not exaggerating. Stay hydrated.
  3. Nutritious bar: oddly enough, I’m never hungry after I play a sweaty game. I’m not even hungry after a few hours, but it’s definitely nice to have a protein bar on hand to refuel. One thing that I do crave though after a long day of beach volleyball is a nice, refreshing acai bowl. Mhmmmm…Hello, Juice Crafters or Ubatuba.
  4. Socks: surprisingly, socks are REALLY important, especially on a hot, sunny day. The sand can get really hot, unbearably so. I’ve gotten blisters in the arches of my feet from hot sand! The friction of the sand rubbing against your feet when it is hot is not a pleasing feeling. I’ve had blisters to the point where it is hard to walk the next day. All I can say is socks, socks, socks.

The nice thing about finding a meetup group to play with is that there are a ton of umbrellas to hide under when you aren’t playing a game. And all levels are welcome, whether you are interested in playing doubles or fours. But doubles is a much better workout. That is my recommendation for sure. Since I don’t have my regular ultimate frisbee itch scratched like I normally would back in NC, I’m completely fine with going back to my first sports love.

As each week winds closer to the weekend, I get more eager to be out there and less productive at work. This is why I am all in about having summer Fridays, but for now, I’ll just settle for summer Saturdays.

Leave a Reply

