Exploration · Photography

Eagle Rock Trail

This Memorial Day Weekend was different than any of the others in past years…mainly because I’ve always been at the same place on past Memorial Weekends at a retreat in Lynchburg, VA. But this year, I spent my weekend in Los Angeles. It was weird not being in a sleep-deprived yet spiritually-fueled cabin-y retreat setting, but not a bad weird. A different weird.

I spent my Saturday night with my grandparents, aunts, uncle and cousins, catching up over dinner. On Sunday, I went to church, hung out at a friend’s place singing karaoke and playing games, and ended the night at a Korean restaurant. And on Monday, I got to sleep in and met up with a friend to go hiking on the Eagle Rock Trail in Topanga State Park.

2CF394F6-F2DB-45D5-B98A-77A2492127F7
Eagle Rock.

It was definitely the most laid-back, relaxing Memorial Day Weekend I’ve had in a long time. The trail itself was a pretty easy hike! Thankfully, the weather was nice and breezy, and the incline wasn’t too steep. One thing that I really appreciate about living in Los Angeles is the vast amount of choices when it comes to hiking. The trails all differ, but the view is always spectacular.

2BF3D62C-5ED3-4245-B30F-00899CD295EA
The Winding Road Ahead.

Even though this holiday wasn’t like my usual annual trip, it didn’t feel out of place. I didn’t feel like I was missing out or regretting my decision not to attend Lynchburg. I will never wish to change my time in the past for anything because it shaped me to the person I am today. And because of those experiences and retreat times, I can look back on it with fond memories, eager to make new ones in this time and place.

1FCBF693-CF7A-4B5E-BBE4-D980E1EA60F7
Trailblazing Off the Dirt Road.

This weekend I was still on a mountain, still experiencing the cool breeze, the (albeit dead) grass, and the company of family of friends. The time zone, people, coastline and view might contrast, but the feeling of joy and taking a breathe to enjoy it all remains.

Leave a Reply

